These Forums Are Now Read-Only

For TubePress support, please post a question here or open a support ticket and we will be glad to assist.

Photo

Display Vimeo description under player?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Nigel Barker

Nigel Barker

• TubePress Pro
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 18 August 2012 - 12:49 PM

I have a simple video gallery drawing content from a Vimeo album & it works very nicely but I would like to pick up & display under the featured video the description from Vimeo. I don't want the description under each thumbnail as just the title is sufficient & it would be too cluttered with the full description under each thumbnail. I just want the description under the player but unless I have missed something there is no option for this.

This is the current page http://www.alicebark...ideo-portfolio/

BTW I am a sometime software developer reasonably OK with PHP so if you could just give me some pointers to where I should start looking if it's necessary to modify the code then would be a great start.

Cheers

Nigel

#2 eric

eric

Lead Developer

• TubePress Staff
  • 2787 posts

Posted 18 August 2012 - 09:56 PM

Hi Nigel,

There's a few other posts in the forum on this topic, but here are the steps to get this feature. It's not the simplest process on the planet, I know. But I think you'll find that this way gives you maximum flexibility in laying out your gallery, and it's totally upgrade-proof.

• If you haven't already, create and activate a TubePress theme to hold your customizations. Assuming you're using WordPress, you'll want to create a directory for your theme at

wp-content/tubepress-content/themes/yourtheme
    Standalone PHP users can create the directory at

tubepress_pro_x_y_z/content/themes/yourtheme
  • Copy into your new theme the following file and its parent directories

tubepress_pro_x_y_z/sys/ui/themes/default/players/normal.tpl.php
    So after this step you should have that file at